• Downloads
  • Branch/ ATM Locator
  • Search

Jaffri Ahmad and Mazlina Kamarudin of Bismi Cergas Sdn Bhd named as Agrobank Excellent Agropreneur Of The Year 2018

KUALA LUMPUR – Jaffri Ahmad and Mazlina Kamarudin, owner of Bismi Cergas Sdn Bhd, today was announced as the main winner for Agrobank Agropreneur of the year 2018 under the Excellent Entrepreneur Category.  The awards ceremony was attended by YB Dato’ Haji Salahuddin bin Ayub, Minister of Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry who gave away the awards to the winners and witnessed by YBhg Tan Sri Mohamad Zabidi Zainal, Chairman of Agrobank and Tuan Syed Alwi Mohamed Sultan Managing Director / Chief Executive Officer of Agrobank.  More than 250 guests attended the event in Kuala Lumpur, which was held in conjunction with Agrobank’s 49th year anniversary.

The owner of Bismi Cergas Sdn Bhd who is a husband and wife team started the poultry business in 1994. From a small beginning, the company has grown to become the largest poultry supplier in northern Malaysia.  The achievement and success of the company is a result of their dedication and exemplary leadership.  Jaffri Ahmad leads the operations matters while Mazlina Kamarudin focuses on management and administration matters.  This combination proves to be the key success for the company excellent performance. Among their corporate clienteles are Ayamas Food Corporation Sdn. Bhd.

Commenting on the 3A awards, Tan Sri Mohamad Zabidi said, the award is part of Agrobank’s initiatives to recognise outstanding entrepreneurs in agri-business.

“3A was first introduced in 2016 to recognise Agrobank’s successful clients for their performance and success in agro-related businesses either upstream or downstream activities.  We believe their success stories will inspire others and highlight good prospects and potential in agri-business,” said Tan Sri Mohamad Zabidi.

“Agrobank was established in 1969 with the mandate of providing access to finance to spur the growth of the agricultural sector.  With this mandate, Agrobank is committed to creating value by providing financial needs to entrepreneurs, which will eventually help to grow communities and create values beyond banking. We believe successful entrepreneurs are able to drive growth and prosperity, and inspire positive change that impacts not only themselves, but also their people, their communities and the economy at large.

“These values are in line with the initiatives of Bank Negara Malaysia’s (BNM) value-based intermediation (VBI) which focuses on practices that will result in a better facilitation of entrepreneurship, community well-being, sustainable environment and economic growth,” said Tan Sri Mohamad Zabidi further.

Agrobank is one of the founding members of the VBI Community of Practitioners (CoP) which consist of nine Islamic banks who have indicated their commitment to adopt VBI.

In addition to the top awards, Agrobank also presented 7 other awards to the following agropreneurs:

  • Young Agropreneur Award – Kamaruzzaman Abd Jalil, Desa Selatan Beef Sdn Bhd
  • Micro Agropreneur Award – Nur Aisyah Tey Abdullah, Nat Mega Enterprise
  • People with Disabilities (PWD) Agropreneur Award – Zarida Zakaria, Sinar ZZ Enterprise
  • Woman Agropreneur Award – Yap Di Bee, Marine Gold Marketing Sdn Bhd
  • Innovative Agropreneur Award – Dato’ Lau Hai Po, Lai Hin Trading Sdn Bhd
  • Loyal Customer Award (Individual) – Nazri bin Mohammad
  • Loyal Customer Award (Company) – Medan Juara Sdn. Bhd.

The award recipients brought home trophies, certificates and cash prizes with total amount of RM140,000.00.  

The assessment of award winners was facilitated by the Malaysia Productivity Corporation (MPC) with input from Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM).

  • English
  • Bahasa